My Mermaid “Tale” – August 4, 2015

I’ve always had the dream of being a real mermaid, but we all know that is unrealistic. So about a year ago i decided to make a mermaid tail out of somewhat stretchy fabric. But, i don’t have a sewing machine, so i decided to hand-sew it with the help of my mom. It worked out pretty well until we got to the end and i realized, “I DON’T HAVE A FIN FOR THE BOTTOM” So, i decided to use a piece of cardboard, duct tape, and a pair of flip-flops. Of course i didn’t have the intentions to swim with a piece of cardboard, so it was more of a beached-whale situation. It was all finished and i was so excited just to wear it. But then i thought, “I can’t swim in this, can I?” And in my brain, that was the whole point.

So, recently i decided to take another shot. I got very dark/royal blue swimwear fabric this time. I still don’t have a sewing machine, so i hand-sewed this one too. Before i get ahead of myself, i thought about my previous mistakes and decided to buy a mono fin. It is a pretty turquoise blue color and fits right in. My favorite part about it was at the foot is had a scaled silicone design. When i was finished, i was so happy that i could swim in it. My dad previously bought a 2 feet deep and 9 feet wide octagon kiddie-pool, so that worked out for the swim portion. The first time i tried it out, it was so cool! It was like a dream come true. So, we decided to take a visit to my sister’s friend Jason’s house who has a real pool. It was awesome to actually swim in a deep, in ground pool. If you were wondering, my total for the whole project was around $65. So, if you are thinking about making one, make sure you know what you are doing before you buy the fabric and just start sewing.

I thought i would share that experience as well as some pictures. The first pic is the first tail in our pool without the cardboard fin. The second and third is the new tail in our pool. All of the rest are at Jason’s pool. Enjoy!

first tail second tail excuse the face IMG_7402IMG_7403IMG_7404

Leave a Reply

