A Moment In Time · Story · Writing

A Moment In Time; WW -January 27, 2016

Hello and welcome to today’s Writing Wednesday! Sorry this post is late, WordPress was glitching last night when i tried to post! Lets go,

—–

Chapter Two

I wake at 12:00am. I just jump out of bed. I know I’m not supposed to be awake, but once i wake up i can never fall asleep again. I walk over to my window to at least distract myself for a little while. There isn’t a soul outside. You could hear a leaf fall off a tree from miles away.

Since there’s nothing else to do, i might as well tell you about it. I know i’m not allowed to have it, but i know i need it. Well, the it is a tablet. It might not seem like a big deal to you, i’ve heard you could go buy one at the store, but it is here. We don’t have electronics of our own, only at the library. This tablet can get government information and hack into servers from beyond the city limits.

Beyond the city limits, the government says there is nothing. I don’t believe that. That’s why I’m writing to you. Maybe you can help us. We have four cities here all surrounding an island. The four cities are called Colbert, Brea, Hammon, and Lely. The island is called New Love Island. The newly matched move there for ten years and then back into a city to raise a few children. Once their kids move to NLI, the parents get released.

That’s another reason I’m writing to you. I know there are people out there. Some people in here say its a hoax and the older couples come back in to a secret underground building. I know better.

I live in Brea. Im 17 years old and am about to get matched. 45:7:36:11.85 is what my clock reads. 45 days, 7 hours, 36 minutes, 11.85 seconds. The one in my wrist. Those count down to the exact second you’ll get matched to your soul mate. You aren’t actually supposed to know your soul mate, they should live a city over from you. But, Jeremiah (Jerry) got moved to live next door to me when we were eight. And, we are matches.

But, i get sucked out of my whirlpool of thoughts when i hear a light knock on my window…

—–

Thanks for reading and join us next Wednesday for Chapter Three! Please like, comment any suggestions, feedback, or questions below, and follow for weekly posts! Until next time,

 

Leave a Reply

