Book Review

Even In Paradise \ Book Review! – August 16, 2016

Hello and welcome to a Tuesday blog post! Here we go,

DSCN0049

/RATING/
9.9/10, I loved this book so much. This had become my third favorite book i have ever read. It is a mix between “The Perks Of Being A Wallflower”, “Gossip Girl”, and “The Great Gatsby” in a young adult novel that is written like an adult novel. I would recommend to anyone and everyone.

/SYNOPSIS/
The Buchanan’s were brilliant, beautiful and awfully broken. Julia Buchanan enrolls into St.Anne’s, a catholic boarding school, and Charlotte Ryder is inducted into her glamorous life. Their family falls in love with Charlotte, nicknamed Charlie, and she quickly falls in love too. But then Charlie realizes that Julia is still suffering from a tragedy that haunts her every waking minute. And when Charlie learns too much, learns the Buchanan family’s secret, she might be shut out from their lives forever.

/FAVORITE QUOTE/
I couldn’t pick one so here are three!
1> “When i opened my eyes, he was searching my face with a mixture of confusion and curiosity. I leaned. Then he leaned. Our faces got closer and closer until his was so near mine i could feel his breath on my cheek. I closed my eyes again as he whispered, “Everyone has something to hide.’
2> “They were perfect. They were flawed. They were scarred and beautiful. They were too familiar with death and clung to life by clinging to one another. The Great Buchanans were only human, after all.”
This one i shortened and added some context from other pages.
3> “Heartbreak is not something anyone can teach you. Heartbreak you must learn on your own. (page 349). Friends helped, travel helped, time helped, and art helped. I made it to this point, but i made it on my own terms. That was her – their – final gift to me. Helping me stand. Helping me imagine a life large enough to stand for.” (Page 350).

/OVERALL/
I thought this book was absolutely amazing. Charlie starts as an outsider and, within days, is welcomed by the Buchanans fully. This YA, but not written like a YA, novel gives you an overall melancholy but content feeling  and i think everyone should read this at some point in their life!

…..

Thanks for reading this post and come back for more random blog posts! Until next time,

2 thoughts on “Even In Paradise \ Book Review! – August 16, 2016

Leave a Reply

