Poetry

English Project Poem / on the holocaust – June 11, 2017

Hello and welcome to a Sunday post! A while has it been. So much is changing and the school year is almost over! This post is just a poem from my English class this year; we had to read Night by Elie Wiesel and right a poem based on “First They Came For” , by Martin Niemoller. Click on these words to read the original poem! Without further ado,

First they came for my voice,
And the words lodged in my throat.
The “no”s, the “stop”s, the “what”s, the “why”s,
But then we just got used to the silence.

Then they took my rights away,
And trapped us all within the whispering walls of our homes.
Only, the houses did not feel much like homes anymore.
We live in them, we love in them, we breathe in them but they are not ours.
But then we got used to the four white walls.

Then they took the stars and the planets,
that felt within our grasps,
The glimmers of hope, of life, of light.
No more night walks, no more windows, no more night, not after six.
But eventually when we glanced upon our blacked out windows,
We could not remember the warmth of the sun on our skin.

Then they put up the fence of lost dreams,
Welded by the hands with broken pasts.
Mind scarred and lives abandoned,
We could no longer move freely.
Still convinced by words as hollow as a pin-pricked egg,
That there was still light at the end of this tunnel.
But then we noticed that our fence had no gates and our tunnel became a little darker.

Then they came for me,
My voice stolen, words robbed from my throat and dragged between my cracked lips,
Made me feel like a prisoner in my own home,
A stranger to a country that I once called home,
They replaced my light with darkness,
My rights with shackles, my love with fear,
They changed me.
They changed us.
This time, it will never be the same.

…..

Thank you for reading and please come back for more random posts! Until next time,

 

Leave a Reply

